Our photo gallery uses an advanced Flash component to provide easy navigation and a superior browsing experience. You are seeing this message because you either have JavaScript disabled or you do not have the latest version of Adobe Flash.
(Flash version 8 or higher required: click to download.)

Janet Engstrom, PhD, RN, CNM, WHNP

Chairperson, Department of Women, Children, and Family Nursing
Professor, Department of Women, Children, and Family Nursing
BS DePaul University, Chicago
MS University of Illinois, Chicago
PhD University of Illinois, Chicago
Cert. University of Illinois, Chicago

Dr. Janet Engstrom is Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Women, Children, and Family Nursing at Rush University Medical Center, and serves as the co-principal investigator for the Rush Mothers’ Milk Club NIH grant.  She joined the Rush faculty in 2005 after having received numerous teaching awards during her tenure at the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is a Certified  Nurse-Midwife and a certified Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner. She has served as principal or co-principal investigator on numerous internally and externally funded research projects, has authored over 50 peer-reviewed publications, and has chaired numerous doctoral and masters students’ research projects.  With her expertise in women’s health, Dr. Engstrom provides clinical education and counseling for mothers of infants cared for in the Rush NICU, including a regular Mothers’ Milk Club luncheon discussion on contraceptive options while providing milk for NICU infants.   In 2007, Dr. Engstrom served as the lead editor for a special issue of Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health that focused on evidence-based lactation care, and has served as the American College of Nurse- Midwives’ representative to the United States Breastfeeding Committee.  She is the recipient of the 2007 Jonas Salk Health Leadership Award for Nursing, has participated in research review panels for the National Institutes of Health (2009) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2006), and has been elected to full membership in the International Society for Research in Human Milk and Lactation.